Thursday, November 19, 2015

Check Out the Track List for "The Hateful Eight"

Samuel L. Jackson
There's a good chance that, like most people, you are getting very exciting by the upcoming film from director Quentin Tarantino called The Hateful Eight. His second venture into western-themed storytelling is schedule for a special Christmas release, then followed by a January 2016 wide release. While there's a good chance that you likely have seen the footage and have prepared yourself, it's been awhile since we've heard anything regarding the soundtrack, which is supposed to be penned by compose Ennio Morricone. Today marks the release of the soundtrack, which features Morricone, but a few other surprises from rock and pop artists that you've likely heard. Click to find out who's on the compilation.

For those unfamiliar with how Tarantino soundtracks work, it's a mixture of everything that's used in the film, plus select audio snippets from the film. This is done so that actors' best lines are heard in between songs, as if to cue up the next one. In this case, the listing gives us some clues as to what each character will be saying, plus some familiar use of older songs. This time, the original score outweighs the previously released music - which is a first for the director, who has been known to crib from other films. In this case, he gets some music from The White Stripes and Roy Orbison, which will be exciting to hear in context.

Check out the full listing below:

1. "L’ultima diligenza di red rock" – Ennio Morricone
2. "Ouverture" – Ennio Morricone
3. "Major Warren Meet Daisy Domergue" – Jennifer Jason Leigh
4. "Narratore letterario" – Ennio Morricone
5. "Apple Blossom" – The White Stripes
6. "Frontier Justice" – Tim Roth
7. "L’ultima diligenza di red rock" – Ennio Morricone
8. "Neve" – Ennio Morricone
9. "This Here Is Daisy Domergue" – Kurt Russell
10."Sei cavalli" – Ennio Morricone
11. "Raggi di sole sulla montagna" – Ennio Morricone
12. Son of the Bloody N**ger Kller of Baton Rouge" – Samuel L. Jackson
13. "Jim Jones at Botany Bay" – Jennifer Jason Leigh
14. "Neve" – Ennio Morricone
15. "Uncle Charlie’s Stew" – Samuel L. Jackson
16. "I quattro passeggeri" – Ennio Morricone
17. "La musica prima del massacro" – Ennio Morricone
18. "L’inferno bianco" – Ennio Morricone
19. "The Suggestive Oswaldo Mobray" – Tim Roth
20. "Now You’re All Alone" – David Hess
21. "Sangue e neve" – Ennio Morricone
22. "L’inferno bianco" – Ennio Morricone
23. "Neve" – Ennio Morricone
24. "Daisy’s Speech" – Walton Goggins
25. "La lettera di lincoln" – Ennio Morricone
26. "La lettera di lincoln" – Ennio Morricone
27. "There Won’t Be Many Coming Home" – Roy Orbison
28. "La puntura della morte" – Ennio Morricone

While this likely means little, it's a relief to see so much original content. The director stepped outside of his comfort zone on Django Unchained by using contributions for various artists such as Rick Ross and John Legend to add a funky and blaxploitation vibe to his film. While I wish that there was more of that here, I am excited to hear what Morricone sounds like providing more than a brief snippet for Tarantino's films. He previously donated music to the director on his last film with "Ancora qui." It was a move that caused reports to claim that the composer and director weren't competent collaborators. Thankfully, that has been debunked and has made for one of the most anticipated scores of the year. Here's hoping that it delivers.

No comments:

Post a Comment